The 2020 Essential Utilities environmental, social and governance (ESG) report is now live!

For more on Essential’s commitment to ESG, visit

Board of Directors

Find information below on Essential Utilities’ corporate governance. View biographies of the members of Essential’s Board of Directors.

Christopher Franklin Chairman, Essential Utilities
Elizabeth B. Amato Director Since 2018
David Ciesinski Director since 2021
Daniel J. Hilferty Lead Independent Director, Director since 2017
Francis Idehen Director Since 2019
Edwina Kelly Director Since 2021
Ellen T. Ruff Director since 2006
Lee C. Stewart Director Since 2018
Christopher Womack Director Since 2019